Main content start
Achievements & Awards
Inside the Department

2024 Department of Music Award Recipients

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2024 Department of Music Awards:

  • Carol and Peter Polk Music Award (Instrumental or Vocal Performance) Andrew Chen (marimba), Kristie Park (flute), Anthony Qin (alto saxophone)
  • The Blew-Culley-LaFollette Prize (Piano Performance) — Tristan Peng
  • Daniel V. Robinson Prize (Instrumental Performance) Eric Wang (guitar)
  • Rita Taylor Prize (Vocal Performance) Akash Shah
  • Patrick Butler Prize (Piano Performance) Oscar Paz-Suaznabar
  • Marie Gibson Prize (Vocal Performance) — Iskander Nekkaz-Le Roux
  • Costanza Prize for Cello PerformanceKevin Song
  • Friends of Music Graduate Prize in Music (Vocal or Instrumental Performance)Julia Yu (soprano)
  • Glen & Barbara Smerage Violin Performance PrizeClair Koo, Gabriel Tsai
  • Glen & Barbara Smerage Chamber Music Performance PrizeThomas Colburn (soprano saxophone), Jiaju Liu (alto saxophone), Grant N. Moore (tenor saxophone), Amaru Ordóñez-Jacobson (baritone saxophone)
  • Geoff Nuttall Friends of Music Chamber Music AwardDaiki Nakajima (soprano saxophone), Nolan Miranda (piano and synthesizer), Mark Rau (bass), Michael Hayes (drums)
  • Friends of Music Undergraduate Composition Award Siddharth Pant

Congratulations to all our prize winners! The department and Friends of Music at Stanford will present the Department of Music Award Winners Concerts with two different programs in Campbell Recital Hall at the Braun Music Center on Friday, May 3rd at 4:30 PM and 7:30 PM. These programs, free and open to the public, will feature the students listed above.