Skip to content Skip to navigation

Achievements & Awards

Stanford Symphony Orchestra Concerto Competition results!

Monday, April 18, 2016

The winner of the Stanford Symphony Orchestra's 2016 Concerto Competition is Vivian Lou, who will be featured soloist for Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15, at a future orchestral concert. Honorable Mentions go to Charles de Bourcy and Evan Lin. 

The jury for the 2016 Concerto Competition commends all participants for their high level of performance and dedication to making music.


Music faculty Murray Low featured on Grammy-nominated CD

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

The CD Intercambio by the Wayne Wallace Latin Jazz Quintet, featuring Department of Music faculty Murray Low on piano, has earned a Grammy nomination in the category of Best Latin Jazz Album. This release highlights the rich African Diaspora cultures of the United States, Cuba, and various Caribbean cousins. | Find out more at the Wayne Wallace Latin Jazz Quintet website.

Stanford Chamber Chorale — SLSQ – Stanford Chamber Strings Haydn CD qualified for first-round Grammy ballot

Friday, October 9, 2015

The National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences has just qualified the new Haydn CD featuring the Stanford Chamber Chorale, St. Lawrence String Quartet, and Stanford Chamber Strings for the first-round ballot of the current Grammy Award cycle in the following categories: Best Choral Performance, Best Chamber Music / Small Ensemble Performance, Best Program Notes (by Music alum Eric Tuan), and Best Engineered, Classical.

Giancarlo Aquilanti's opera "Ángela, Dante y Umbría" premieres in México

Thursday, September 3, 2015

Ángela, Dante y Umbría, a new opera composed by Giancarlo Aquilanti (Senior Lecturer and Director of Music Theory at the Department of Music) premiered this week at the Teatro Juárez in Guanajuato, MéxicoÁngela, Dante y Umbría, his fourth opera, is the end product of two years of work, much of that time spent in México.

Alumnus Joseph Sargent honored for teaching at the University of Montevallo

Friday, August 28, 2015

Joseph Sargent (Ph.D., Music & Humanities, 2009; M.A., Music History, 2004), currently Assistant Professor of Musicology at the University of Montevallo in Montevallo, Alabama, has received the Distinguished Teacher Award from the College of Fine Arts for the 2014-15 academic year. Dr.

Mahan Esfahani (Music '05) appointed Professor of Harpsichord at Guildhall School

Monday, December 8, 2014

The Guildhall School of Music & Drama in London has announced the appointment of world-renowned harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani (Music '05) as Professor of Harpsichord, welcoming him to its professorial staff beginning spring 2015. Jonathan Vaughan, Director of Music at Guildhall School, commented: "I am delighted to welcome Mahan to the School. As a soloist, he has quickly acquired a towering reputation which will inspire our students by example.


Subscribe to RSS - Achievements & Awards