Skip to content Skip to navigation

Clarence Barlow: Piano and electroacoustic works | Chryssie Nanou, piano

Friday, January 18, 2019 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm
CCRMA Stage, The Knoll


Please join us next Friday for a concert of works by Clarence Barlow. Chryssie Nanou will perform a selection of preludes and fugues for piano from Barlow's Ludus Ragalis in alternation with his multichannel electroacoustic pieces.

Pre-concert lecture at 5:30 PM: Before the concert, Mr. Barlow will give a talk about Five Dodecaphonic Pieces, a series of 12-channel electroacoustic pieces realized in 2016-17. He will also briefly talk about Approximating Pi and Four ISIS Studies, both electroacoustic pieces from 2003-08. These works will be presented in the concert.

Clarence Barlow was born in 1945 into the English-speaking minority of Calcutta, where he went to school and college, studied piano and music theory, started composing in 1957, and obtained a science degree in 1965. After activities as pianist, conductor, and music theory teacher, he moved in 1968 to Cologne, where he studied composition and electronic music until 1973, also studying sonology at Utrecht University from 1971-72. His use of a computer as a compositional aid dates from 1971. From 1982-1994, he was in charge of computer music at the biannual Darmstadt New Music Summer Courses and from 1984-2005, lecturer on computer music at Cologne Music University. From 1990-91, he was guest professor of composition at the Folkwang University Essen, from 1990-94, artistic director of the Institute of Sonology at the Royal Conservatory The Hague, where from 1994-2006, he was professor of composition and sonology. From 1994-2010, he was a member of the International Academy of Electroacoustic Music in Bourges. From 2005-2006, he was guest professor of composition at the School of Music and Performing Arts ESMAE in Porto. In 2006 he was appointed Corwin professor and head of composition at the Music Department of UC Santa Barbara. In 2018, he served as guest professor at the Catalonia College of Music ESMUC in Barcelona.

Born in Greece, Chryssie Nanou showed an exceptional musical talent at an early age, winning First Prize at the “Filonos” National Youth Competition and a prize in the European Young Soloist Competition. Pursuing her musical studies in France, she graduated from the École Normale de Musique de Paris "Alfred Cortot" (ENMP), where she studied with Germaine Mounier, obtaining in consecutive years the Diplôme national de l'enseignement, Execution and Concertist. After pursuing a graduate diploma in piano and computer music from the Peabody Institute of Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, MD), Chryssie became a 2003 Visiting Scholar at CCRMA at Stanford University. A prizewinner at the Albert Roussel International Competition, she performs regularly in recitals and chamber music concerts around the world, featuring an eclectic repertoire that includes works from Couperin, Berio, Crumb, Beethoven, Sciarrino, and Davidovsky. As a solo artist and chamber musician, she has given the world premieres of works by many young composers including the first performance of George Antheil’s Ballet Mechanique in a version with synchronized film. Among her recent performances are concerts with the San Francisco Contemporary Players, SEAMUS, the Third Practice Festival, and the Electric Rainbow Coalition Festival at Dartmouth. Chryssie has served as the Artistic Coordinator of CCRMA, where she oversaw both the CCRMA Concert Series, as well as the Strictly Ballroom concert series. She currently sits on the board of the International Computer Music Association (ICMA) and performs extensively in the U.S. and around the world.

Event Sponsor: 
Department of Music, Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics
Contact Email:
Event Type: 
Performers Type: 
Guest Artists
New Music
Academic Quarter: 
Winter 2019
Guest Artist(s): 
Chryssie Nanou, Clarence Barlow